top of page

Fast and Furious 25: Neighborhood Snatch



With the invention of the Ring Video Doorbell came along the Ring app for our phones. At the end of each week this app will give you a event history of things going on in your neighborhood. I have noticed a large increase of post about teenagers breaking in to people’s cars in the middle of the night.


In almost all the videos these teens calmly walk up to the cars, even with flood lights on them, and check the door handles. If they are unlocked, they will calmly continue to ransack the car before leaving quickly. If the car is locked, they will walk away and move on the next house. I wanted to get my neighbors opinions on this and see what they want do about it.


Christopher Bell, a neighbor of mine who actually had their car broken into stated “ It is really just sad that this is what our community has come to. This really makes me struggle with having an optimistic outlook for the up coming generations”. I also interviewed Jeremy Villarreal, the HOA president who told me that “I am currently talking with a Sergeant with the Rowlett Police Department in an effort to get them to patrol more in the late hours of the night. Please keep sending me your Ring video so I can build a stronger case to give to the police”.


Both personal used a mixer of ethos and logos to plead their feelings on the subject at hand. Christopher implied he is losing faith in our youths which is a good use of ethos to persuade the reader. While Jeremy, used logos in stating that he needs more and more evidence in attempt to persuade the police to spend more time keeping our neighborhood safe.


[1 image, 2 links, 2 quotes, 297 words]

Comments


bottom of page