top of page

Let's Tweet About It



When it comes to social media, Twitter seems to be the most frequent app that shows news feed. I could be scrolling through the homepage feed and the latest news shows up on my screen. These advertisements usually are about topics or similar topics O had researched the day prior. With my search history being full of news articles that have to do with my history class, I have seen dozens of ads for similar news, this is called "Cookies". According to theConversation, "Cookies are small text files stored by websites on our internet browsers, which allow the website to gather information about us" ("Cookies: I Looked At 50 Well-Known Websites And Most Are Gathering Our Data Illegally"). These apps that allow news to be spread seem to make the choice of advertising the most relevant "hot and popular" stories. Stories that have yet to be spread around and been messed with. They use tactics such as bold, capitalized letters to grab our attention and have us read the caption. Reading the caption leads to us clicking and reading what's being advertised. I have found myself in this position multiple times and have learned that those advertisements are not as accurate as they are meant to seem like.

Comments


bottom of page