top of page

News Feeds: Apple News or Google News




Apple and Google are very well known companies that have created extraordinary technology and apps. To me, it always seems that they are constantly competing with one another to create the better product whether it be a device or app.

Apple is known for its exclusive features that are only on the apple app store, Apple News is no exception. Apple News is self-explanatory in what the app does, I don't personally use the app itself anymore, but I do often get emails from it. The app has quite the poor rating on the app store, with 2.5 stars, as many users claim to have problems with it. Many users say that the app isn't great because to have access to certain headlines you need to have a subscription and even then, you still get the same features as nonpayers except access to slightly more articles. Others state that it drains battery and even though it "allows" you customize your news feed, it really doesn't as it will continuously show content that has been blocked.

Google also has some incredible apps that can be used on both apple and android devices, one of them being Google News. I have never used the app myself, but I do have quite good experiences with other google related apps. The app has a near perfect rating of 4.6 stars on the app store and 4.1 stars on the play store. Many users really like Google News as it is free to use, it allows you to customize your feed and will give huge range of coverage. While it does have good reviews, some users have report that the app often crashes and struggles to load links properly, it seems that most of these issues are caused after the app receive an update.

If I had to choose between the two, I would probably chose Google News, as it seems to have less bugs and doesn't require the reader to pay to have access to all the articles. Both Apple and Google have great products and I don't have anything against either one, but in my opinion, I think Google created a better news app than Apple did.

Komentáře


bottom of page