top of page

Should news be limitless?



After reading Tamar Charney's blog post about "Limiting Limitless news" on NiemanLab, I started thinking about the news world. When I was sixteen, I was allowed to have social media. Since then I have started to see a more decline of people using social media to post pictures or their thoughts and more about sharing news stories. What I really feel like the turning point of online news was the pandemic. Everyone was stuck in the house and working from home. "Maybe it’s the pandemic, maybe it’s just a pendulum swinging back, but data suggests people are moving in the direction of more finite forms of news in their diets." Radio news was going down and so online news was on the rise. The second I open an app like Twitter or Facebook, I feel like its an ambush of news here and there. Sometimes I will go through and read the articles if it peaks my interest. Social media is a great platform for news companies to get the word out. I don't think I know one person who doesn't have at least one social media account. But are we pushing out the old ways of getting news? Like newspaper or news on the television. When is enough news enough? Personally I grow tired of seeing news articles 24/7 on social media to where some days, I get on social media for maybe 10 minutes of the day.

Commenti

Impossibile caricare i commenti
Si è verificato un problema tecnico. Prova a riconnetterti o ad aggiornare la pagina.
bottom of page