top of page

The Slap Heard Around The World: Was it Real or Fake?


Let me start with a question, were you tuned into the 2022 Oscars? Not a lot of people were, including me. I was sound asleep in my bed. I had just laid down from a very busy day when all of a sudden, my brother called me out of the blue. When I answered the phone, my brother had told me that Will Smith had just "Slapped the taste of Chris Rocks' mouth." I was so shocked that I quickly got off the phone and went to Twitter, and there it was... A video of Will Smith walking with a certain demeanor toward Chris Rock. I started smiling because Chris ock was laughing and smiling so I thought it was a skit. POW!

Will had just struck Chris and walked back to his seat. I kept thinking "WOW, That must be a skit right? It seemed kinda real..." Then Will shouted, "Keep My wife's name out ya bleeping mouth!" Only he didn't say bleeping. Chris responded, "It was a G.I Jane joke." Will said louder "KEEP...MY WIFE'S NAME... OUT YA BLEEPING MOUTH!" When I was watching the video and that moment came, my mouth flew wide open. My mind was blown to see that this was VERY real. Will Smith just slapped Chris Rock on LIVE TELEVISION. Of course, It didn't take long for social media to get ahold of this and start making jokes, memes, news stories or even having podcasts talking about it. The next day, it was the talk of the town. Everyone was shocked by Will's actions. However, there were still some people who said the slap was staged or fake. A lot of people went to Twitter to share their thoughts and said that it was all fake for publicity. This means that Will Smith went up on the stage and smacked Chris just so the Oscars ratings could go up. Others really believe in it because now Chris Rock ticket sales have gone way up after the incident. most people believe it is real and most people will say it's not. The only thing we do know for certain is that this left a stain on Hollywood's biggest night

[2 images, 4 quotations, 2 links, 367 words]

Comments


bottom of page