top of page

What Can We Do About Dallas Traffic?


Since moving to Texas, I have noticed just how much of an absolute nightmare the traffic is compared to my small town in California. It seems that no matter what time of day I am out driving, there is a red at every light and a line of cars stretching as far as the eye can see. This is why I was not surprised in the slightest to find out that Dallas ranked 6th in Metromile's "2021 Top 10 Cities with Worst Traffic in the U.S." After discovering this information, I decided to ask some family members and coworkers about what they thought of the traffic and if they had any possible solutions.

When asking my coworker, Pablo, about his experience with Dallas traffic, he explained that "There is never a point in the day where I can feel comfortable driving. No matter where I go, there's at least twenty cars around me at all times." My brother told me that in order to solve this, "They should add more lines on the road so people actually know what they're doing." While I found this statement to be a bit vague and exaggeratory, I think he had a point. I have also noticed a lack of lines on the road to indicate the different lanes. Perhaps if some more lines were to be added, I wouldn't be late to work every day. Then again, some simple markings on the road aren't going to completely solve Dallas's traffic problem. I think that inexperienced or poor drivers, narrow roads, overly-long lights, and a massive population are all to blame for why the traffic is so terrible. Regardless of what I think, it is evident that this issue will remain prevalent for a long time.


[1 image, 2 quotations, 1 link, 292 words]

Comments


bottom of page