top of page

Why (modern) music is bad for your brain




I should say before I start that, I am a bit of a hypocrite. I'm a music lover, my next post will likely be about Kendrick Lamar's to pimp a butterfly. Which I consider to be the greatest piece of music I have ever heard. But I have begun to listen less and less to music, I only do it now about once or twice a week. This is mostly a result of me becoming a more meditative person, I am always concerned about keeping my mind happy, healthy and clear. I'm happy with this change in myself. I have slowly become healthier in both my body and mind; I am even eating kale as I write this paper. I want you all to know.

I now am beginning to see music as an obstacle to that. I drive recklessly listening to intense rap and drill, research indicates similarly that "teens" listening to their favorite music causes dangerous driving. Every time I hear some diss or mention I have to look it up and subject myself to a toxic news website. Even listening to softer smoother music like R&B takes away my focus, and researchers have noticed this as well. I know that music streaming is just becoming like a social media for songs, and you scroll endlessly in a similar way. Even the music itself is engineered to hook you, like a piece of junk food or social media site would. I am not saying that music itself is inherently bad, just that the way in which it has evolved is becoming unhealthy.


[264 words, 1 image, 3 links, 1 quotation]


Comments


bottom of page